140%Increase in Drug Driving….

In March 2015  new drug driving screening devices were introduced , Along with new driving limits for prescription drugs.

Now my prescriptions have changed over the years, with me having to give an extra signature for the controlled drug Tramadol and new guidelines with my liquid morphine and Diazepam too.

I didn’t really pay much attention to the warnings as I have been on them for so long now It wouldn’t make much of a difference.

When the laws hit the headlines I instantly thought of the illegal drugs but didn’t consider the prescribed variants that could result in a driving ban.

As it turns out I am prescribed 3 of the listed 9 drugs that could see you banned if you are pulled over by the Police. I do not drive very often, normally out of necessity when Hayley (wife) is to fatigued because of her MS and I have to take/collect the gremlins from school.

In case you are not aware here are the prescribed drugs that can see you banned:

  • Temazepam
  • Diazepam
  • Amphetamine
  • Clonazepam
  • Flunitrazepam
  • Lorazepam
  • Methadone
  • Morphine or Opiate based drugs
  • Oxazepam

Over the counter drugs such as codeine could also see you get a ban so my suggestion to anyone taking medication is to read the guidelines thoroughly and if in doubt speak to your pharmacist .

 

 

Leave a Reply

